9-11-2016 – Frittata & Honey Chipotle Tacos

On the menu this week…

Breakfast:
Bacon, Corn, Onion, Jalapeno Frittata

Egg (3, 214 cals)
Egg Whites (4, 69 cals)
Milk, 2% (1 ¼ cup, 153 cals)
Bacon (5 strips, 117 cals)
Corn ( 1 ¼ cup, 188 cals)
Red Onion (100g, 42 cals)
Jalapeno (27g, 8 cals)
Worcestershire (1 tsp, 5 cals)

Total Calories: 397 (two servings of 199 each)
Protein: 29.2
Carbs: 34.4
Fat: 15.4

Post Prep thoughts:
To make a frittata you’re supposed to cook it a bit in a skillet then put it in the oven to finish it off.  I am lazy so I baked the entire thing.  I cooked down the jalapeno and red onion together, then added the corn and cooked that a bit.  The bacon I completely cooked ahead of time and added right before popping everything in the oven.

The full recipe is posted at the bottom.

corn-red-onion-jalapenobacon-onion-corn-jalapeno-frittata

Lunch:
Mini Honey Chipotle Chicken Tacos

Mini Soft Tortilla Taco Boat (3, 120 cals)
Shredded Lettuce (1/4 cup, 6 cals)
Avocado (35g, 58 cals)
Fat Free Sour Cream (32g, 30 cals)
Fat Free Cheddar (30g, 48 cals)
Lime wedge

Recipe: Honey Chipotle Chicken Marinade
Chicken (27.5 oz, 620 cals)
Chipotle Peppers in Adobo Sauce (100g, 67 cals)
Adobo Sauce (from the canned peppers) (4 tbsp, 40 cals)
Honey (4 tbsp, 255 cals)
Garlic Powder (1 tsp)
Chili Powder (1 tsp)

Total Calories: 458
Protein: 43.6
Carbs: 46.8
Fat: 11.6

Post Prep thoughts:
Surprise! I’m having some form of tortilla this week.  I bought the wrong ones unfortunately, I didn’t want the mini ones, I wanted the regular sized boat shaped ones to make just 2 tacos.  The mini ones are pretty cute and I think they will work out fine.  I also didn’t buy enough so there is one I made burrito bowl style.
I really wanted shredded red cabbage with this instead of shredded lettuce but Giant and Whole Foods didn’t have any. Shredding my own would have been way too much left over.
The marinade is super simple and tastes great.  I’ll post the link at the bottom of today’s entry if I can find it again.  I doubled the recipe and left out the olive oil it called for, it really doesn’t seem like it needs it and you’ll save some calories.  I let it marinade for about an hour.

The other week I tried keeping guacamole fresh by adding water to the top of the container. It worked okay but it was too much work (again, I’m lazy) to scrape the watery and brown layer off the top each time I wanted guac.  This week I’m adding avocado slices to the tacos and I read that keeping the avocado in a container with a sliced onion will keep it from going brown.  We’ll see.

uncooked-honey-chipotle-chickenmini-chicken-chipotle-tacos

Final thoughts:
Vacation was a good time.  Is it sad that I am already wondering when my next will be?  This week’s meal prep is very Tex Mex- it seems like Mexican food just has great flavors with fresh ingredients that can really keep your calories down without sacrificing too much flavor.

full-lunch-and-breakfast

Bonus pics!

Leave a Reply

