8-21-2016 – Tofu Bacon, Mini Donuts, & Buffalo Chicken Salad

On the menu this week…

Breakfast:
-Egg white, tofu bacon, galic and herb cheese burrito
-Mini protein donuts

Fiber One Tortilla (1, 80 cals)
Egg whites (2, 34 cals )
Sargento Garlic and Herb Cheese Slices (1, 60 cals)
Tofu bacon (1 oz, 27 cals)
Ketchup (34g, 40 cals)
Mini Cookies and Cream Protein Donuts (3, 175 cals)

Total Calories: 416
Fat: 13.8g
Carbs: 40.4g

Protein: 31.7g

Post Prep thoughts:
You’re probably starting to get the picture that I am a huge fan of tortillas.  Burritos are the perfect vessel for so many foods, and the Fiber One 80 cal tortillas are awesome.
Breakfast for this week was an experiement to say the lease.  I made pineapple and tofu stir fry for dinner last week and wanted to use up my last bit of tofu.  The recipe I followed for the bacon flavor marinade can be found at the bottom of this post in the links sections.
Basically, I cut the tofu thin and let marinade in the fridge for about 3.5 hours.  The marinade consists of tomato paste, maple syrup, worchestershire, and liquid smoke.  My first batch I attempted to cook in a pan but decided to bake the rest (laziness).  I baked the slices at 375 degrees for 35 minutes.
I will say it tastes *similar* to bacon.  It’s not bad but I am glad that I don’t mind eating real bacon!  Tofu is a little less calories for the amount I put in my burrito and clocks in at a few more grams of protein. All in all, tofu bacon is a success but I don’t foresee it becoming a regular occurance in my meal preps.  I am glad I tried it though.

I was really excited to try protein donuts.  The recipe I followed will also be in the links section at the bottom.  I picked up a small 7 serving tub of Cookies and Cream protein powder by Animal.  One scoop of the Animal protein is 125 cals for 25g of protein, not bad at all and as soon as I popped the lid it smelled exactly like Oreos. This is a brand of powder I’ve never tried in a shake before but I think I will once my Trutein runs out.
I doubled the recipe and excluded the nuts.  I also used 55g 60% cacao Ghirardelli chocolate. One donut clocks in at 2.5g fat, 4.6g carbs, and 5g protein. Total calories for 1 donut is 58 cals! Pretty good for a little sweet treat.
Overall the mini donuts are a little on the dry side but I think the flavor is pretty good.  The recipe seems to be very versatile so I’m looking forward to experimenting further with different flavors and fresh ingredients like fruit.

Tofu Bacon MarinadeTofu BaconMini Protein Donuts 2Mini Protein Donuts

 

Lunch:
Buffalo Chicken Salad With Homemade Greek Yogurt Ranch Dressing

Kale and Greens (2oz, 13 cals)
Black Beans (1/4 cup, 60 cals)
Corn (1/4cup, 30 cals)
Fat Free Cheddar Cheese (28g, 45 cals)
Green Onion (25g, 7 cals)
Chicken Breast (4oz, 120 cals)
Yogurt Dressing (1 serving, 61 cals)

Total Calories: 336
Fat: 3g
Carbs:30g
Protein:  47g

Post Prep thoughts:
This week I didn’t take the lazy way out and buy pre made salad dressing.  The recipe for the dressing I made this week will be in the links section at the bottom.
Out of the Ranch spice recipe, I did not include the buttermilk and I used 1 and 1/4 cups of Plain Oikos Greek Yogurt and 1/2 cup of 2% milk.  I think the flavor is almost spot on and I would estimate the recipe with my adjustments made about 5 servings coming in around a 1/3 of a cup, which is plenty of dressing.  Next time I would use less milk as the dressing is pretty runny.
The chicken recipe I followed will also be in the links section.  I baked off about 20 oz of chicken tenderloins tossed in garlic powder, paprika, chili powder, salt and pepper.  When the chicken came out of the oven, I tossed it in Frank’s Red Hot sauce while still hot then let completely cool in the fridge.

 

Buffalo Chicken StripsBuffalo Chicken SaladSalad and Dressing

 

Final thoughts:
This weeks experiments were a success. It was fun trying something different and a litte more complex that usual.  I will say that I won’t be sad going back to regular bacon…

 

No bonus or glamour pics this week

Leave a Reply

